The following are a brief description of the event and when it is


  2016 2017
Sunday Cycle C A
Weekday Cycle 2 3


The 12th day after Christmas, celebrates the visit of the three kings or wise men to the Christ Child.

6 January

Baptism of the Lord

Commemorating the baptism of Jesus in the Jordan River by John the Baptist.
Always the Sunday after Ephiphany

 10 Jan  9 Jan
Last Sunday of ordinary time before Lent  5th  8th

Ash Wednesday

First day of Lent - 46 days before Easter

 10 Feb  1 Mar
St Patrick's Day 17 March

Passion (or Palm) Sunday

Palm Sunday, the final Sunday before Easter Sunday, marks the beginning of Holy Week. Christian churches distribute palms (and sometimes pussy willows) on Palm Sunday to commemorate Christ's triumphal entrance into Jerusalem, when palm branches were placed in His path, before His arrest and Crucifixion on Good Friday.

 20 Mar  9 Apr

Holy Thursday

Holy Thursday (also known as Maundy Thursday) is the day that we celebrate the Last Supper, at which Christ instituted the Mass and the Sacrament of Holy Communion. It is the first day of the Triduum, the three days before Easter Sunday, during which we commemorate Christ's Passion.

 24 Mar  13 Apr

Good Friday

Good Friday is the day on which we commemorate the death of Jesus Christ on the Cross, the act that brought salvation to all who believe. It is the culmination of Holy Week, which begins on Palm Sunday, and it takes place two days before Easter Sunday.

25 Mar 14 Apr

Easter Saturday

Holy Saturday, the day before Easter Sunday, is the final day of the Triduum, the three days during which we commemorate Christ's Passion.

26 Mar 15 Apr

Easter Sunday

Easter, the greatest feast day in the Christian calendar, celebrates the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

27 Mar 16 Apr

Ascension Thursday

The Ascension of Our Lord, a Holy Day of Obligation, celebrates the day that Christ, in the presence of His apostles, ascended bodily into Heaven. The Ascension occurred on the 40th day of Easter, so it falls on a Thursday, and thus is often called Ascension Thursday; however, in most dioceses, the celebration of the Ascension is transferred to the following Sunday, six weeks after Easter

 8 May  25 May

Pentecost (Whitsun)

This marks the end of the Easter season in the Christian calendar, celebrates the descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles. Pentecost falls 50 days after Easter.

15 May 4 Jun

Holy Trinity

Trinity Sunday falls one week after Pentecost Sunday, and it is the day that the Catholic Church has set aside to honour the most fundamental of Christian beliefs—the Holy Trinity.

 22 May  11 Jun

Corpus Christi

Corpus Christi is celebrated on the Thursday after Trinity Sunday, which falls one week after Pentecost Sunday. It is normally moved to the Sunday following

 29 May  18 Jun

Feast of the Sacred Heart

The Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is celebrated 19 days after Pentecost Sunday, which falls on the 50th day of Easter.

 5 Jun  25 Jun
First week of ordinary time after Lent  12th  13th

Transfiguration of Our Lord Jesus Christ

The Feast of the Transfiguration of Our Lord Jesus Christ celebrates the revelation of Christ's divine glory on Mount Tabor in Galilee.

6 Aug

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary commemorates the death of Mary and her bodily assumption into Heaven

15 Aug

Triumph of the Cross (or Finding of the Cross)

It is connected with the old tradition that the Empress Helena discovered the True Cross of Christ in the fourth century and built a church on that place.

14 Sept

All Saints Day

All Saints Day, the day on which Catholics celebrate all the saints, known and unknown, is a surprisingly old feast. It arose out of the Christian tradition of celebrating the martyrdom of saints on the anniversary of their martyrdom. When martyrdoms increased during the persecutions of the late Roman Empire, local dioceses instituted a common feast day in order to ensure that all martyrs, known and unknown, were properly honoured.

31 Oct

Christ the King

It is celebrated on the final Sunday of the liturgical year, which is the last Sunday before Advent starts.

 20 Nov  26 Nov


Advent is a time of preparation for the coming of Christ at Christmas. Traditionally, it has been celebrated with prayer and fasting, which is why it is known as the "little Lent." Advent is also the start of the liturgical year in the Roman Catholic Church.

Advent is a period beginning with the Sunday nearest to the feast of St. Andrew the Apostle (30 November) and embracing four Sundays. That means that the First Sunday of Advent can fall as early as November 27 or as late as December 3.

 27 Nov  3 Dec

Liturgical Years

For Sundays and other special days throughout the church year, there are three sets of readings assigned for the day. These readings are assigned to Liturgical Years A, B, and C.

Years which are evenly divisible by 3 are assigned year C, such as 2010.

Year A follows year C, Year B follows Year A, and Year C follows Year B.

Liturgical Years start on the first Sunday of Advent of the previous year, so December 2, 2012 started Liturgical Year C.

Weekday Cycles

For weekdays in ordinary time and other special days throughout the church year, there are two sets of readings for the day - these readings are assigned to Liturgical Cycles I and II.

Odd years are assigned cycle I, and even years are assigned cycle II.

Seasons of the Liturgical Year

Season  Description 
Advent   The liturgical year begin with Advent, a time of preparation for the Christmas season. The Christmas season celebrates the birth of Jesus (on December 25) and continues until the Baptism of Our Lord
Ordinary Time  
Lent Ash Wednesday marks the beginning of the season of Lent, a time of penitence leading to the Paschal Triduum after the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday. Lent last 6 and a half weeks, and finished at sunset on Holy Thursday.
Paschal Triduum The Triduum is the three days before Easter:
  - Maundy (or Holy) Thursday
  - Good Friday
  - Easter Saturday
Ordinary Time  
Pentecost Sunday Pentecost Sunday marks the start of the second period of Ordinary Time, which continues until the Advent season begins again.
Ordinary Time